East Midlands

by Internetp@icloud.com on 04-16-2017 in UK Tourist Regions

The East Midlands is one of nine official regions of England at the first level of NUTS for statistical purposes. The eastern part of the Midlands, it consists of Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire (except North and North east Lincolnshire), Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire and Rutland. The region has an area of 15,627 km2 (6,034 sq mi), and was home to over 4.5 million people in 2011. There are four cities, Derby, Leicester, Lincoln and Nottingham; other major towns include Boston, Chesterfield, Corby, Grantham, Hinckley, Kettering, Loughborough, Mansfield, Northampton and Wellingborough. The region's relative proximity to London and its connectivity on the national motorway and trunk road networks help the East Midlands thrive as an economic hub. It is also the location of East Midlands Airport in north Leicestershire.

Places in East Midlands







Places of Interest

Tourist Regions




Religious Sites






Things to do


Places nearby East Midlands





All places in East Midlands